PPI Complaints

Your guide to Payment Protection Insurance
complaints

The deadline for submitting complaints is 29 August 2019

If you are unsure whether you had a PPI policy, you can contact us to check. If your PPI check leads to us locating a policy in your name, from the 29th June 2019 we will automatically take this forward as a complaint. This will ensure you do not miss the approaching FCA 29th August 2019 deadline. We may need to contact you for further information in order to investigate your complaint.

Please be assured that making a complaint will not affect your relationship with the bank, and will have no impact on your credit history or your ability to get financial products now or in the future.

What brands can we check PPI on?

We are responsible for checking if you had PPI and investigating complaints for the following brands, credit cards and store cards:

  • Royal Bank of Scotland
  • Direct Line
  • Churchill
  • MINT
  • First Active 
  • The One Account 
  • Lombard Direct

As part of a PPI check or complaint, we can also check for the following store (sometimes branded as "Style") and credit cards:

Still can't find your brand?

Within the RBS Group, PPI was also sold by NatWest and Ulster Bank. If you think you may have been sold PPI by one of these companies, visit their PPI page.

NatWest plc - PPI Complaints - Additional Information

Ulster Bank Northern Ireland plc - PPI Complaints - Additional Information

Still can't find your provider? Why not check the FCA's website, which provides helpful links to other firms

If you are unable to locate your brand in our online forms, please leave the section blank or select "other".

Check if you had PPI

Not sure if you had PPI in the past? Why not check on your account before making a complaint using the 'Have I got PPI?' form.

We will respond to your PPI check within 15-30 business days. If we find a PPI policy in your name from  the 29th June 2019 we will automatically take this forward as a complaint to ensure you do not miss the FCA 29th August 2019 deadline.

You should receive a final response for any complaints taken forward within 8 weeks from the date of our letter acknowledging your complaint.

We will also advise you of any accounts relevant to your check where we have not identified a PPI Policy.

Living abroad?

How to complain

Online

PPI mis-sale complaints

If you feel like you've been mis-sold PPI, there's a complaint form you can use.

The form will ask you for the following details:

  • Your full name
  • Your date of birth
  • Your phone number
  • Your current address

The following details are not essential, but may be useful if you know them:

  • Your previous addresses
  • Your PPI policy number
  • When you bought your PPI policy
  • When you took out the loan or credit product that the PPI covered
  • Your circumstances at the time you bought PPI, such as employment status and the company or organisation you worked for

Complaints about PPI commission (Plevin)

If your complaint is only about PPI commission (Plevin), you can raise a complaint using an online form as well.

This may be a new commission-only complaint or where your mis-sale complaint has previously been rejected.  

Complain by post or phone

By post

Download and print a copy of the PPI consumer questionnaire. Once completed, send to:

PPI Customer Concerns Team
RBS Group
5th Floor, Hardman Boulevard
Manchester
M3 3AQ

By phone

Call us direct on 0800 015 0319.

Lines are open 8:00am-8:00pm Monday - Friday and 8:00am-5:00pm Saturday.

(On 29/08/2019 lines are open 8:00am to Midnight)

Calls may be recorded and/or monitored for training purposes.

Do you have any accessibility needs?

What to do if you aren’t happy with your final response

If you aren’t happy with our final response, or haven’t received a final response within 8 weeks, you can complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service about this.

You will still be able to complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service after the 29 August 2019 deadline if:

  • You complained to your provider on or before 29 August 2019
  • Your provider gives its final response on or after the 29 August 2019

You will need to submit your complaint within 6 months of receiving your PPI provider’s final response.

Questions about making PPI complaints

General questions about PPI complaints

Information about Claims Management Companies (CMCs)

You don't need to use a Claims Management Company (CMC). Please contact us directly - we handle complaints in the same way, within the same timeframe and without charging any fees. Making a complaint about PPI or PPI commission won't affect your relationship with us. 

Is there something else you are looking for?